About us

ANZSPM facilitates professional development and support for its members, promotes the practice of Palliative Medicine and advocates for those who work in the field of palliative medicine.

Part of ANZSPM's core business is to provide a variety of continuous professional development activities to support and educate medical practitioners working in, or with an interest in, palliative medicine.

Our society embraces the definition of Palliative Medicine adopted in Great Britain in 1987. This is quoted in the opening pages in Doyle's Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine - "Palliative Medicine is the study and management of patients with active, progressive, far-advanced disease for whom the prognosis is limited and the focus of care is the quality of life".

Our Purpose

We support the professional needs of medical practitioners as they work to improve the health outcomes of every person with a life-limiting illness, and their family/whānau, in Australia and Aotearoa.

Our Aspiration

Free and equitable access to individualised and culturally safe palliative care, for all who need it in Australia and Aotearoa.

Diagram showing how ANZSPM places the patient at the centre of advocacy, member representation, collaboration and stewarding the Specialty.
ANZSPM's Patient Centred Delivery Model



ANZSPM is governed by a Council made up of elected and appointed members and supported by a secretariat managed by ANZSPM's Chief Executive Officer. An ANZSPM Aotearoa Committee, elected by New Zealand members, oversees business specific to New Zealand.

No more than three members of the Council can be from any one State or New Zealand. At least two members must be from New Zealand, including the ANZSPM Aotearoa Committee Chair who is an automatic appointee. A member who is in training to be a specialist in Palliative Medicine is also included either as an elected or appointed member of Council. 

The President of the Chapter of Palliative Medicine is an ex officio (non voting) member of ANZSPM Council, facilitating communication between ANZSPM and the Chapter. 

ANZSPM Council

Name Office
Dr Christine MottPresident
Dr Michelle GoldPresident Elect
Dr Catherine D'SouzaAppointed councillor (ANZSPM Aotearoa Committee Chair)
Dr Christine SandersonGeneral councillor
Dr Kim Caldwell General councillor
Dr Hannah Douglas-MolloyTrainee Representative
Dr Sarah LordGeneral councillor (co-opted)
Dr Marianne PhillipsGeneral councillor
Dr Brian FernandesGeneral councillor
Dr Peter PoonAppointed councillor (AChPM Chair)
Dr Janine WintersGeneral councillor (co-opted)

ANZSPM Aotearoa (New Zealand) Committee

Name Office
Dr Catherine D'SouzaChair
Dr Jane GrevilleTreasurer
Dr Delamy KeallCommittee member
Dr Dean FourieCommittee member
Dr Helen AtkinsonCommittee member
Dr Florry O'ConnellCommittee member
Dr Lana FergusonCommittee member
Dr Amanda EvansCo-opted member
Dr Katrina GibsonTrainee Representative


ANZSPM's operational activities are managed part-time by a small team whose office has recently become completely remote.

Please contact info@anzspm.org if you have an enquiries. 

Janice Besch -  Chief Executive Officer

Rhiannon Ellis - Events/Comms & Admin Coordinator 

Emma Mathews - Business Officer